System state restore

This forum is no longer monitored by the BackupAssist support team, but is available to the public to use for assistance with technical issues relating to BackupAssist v8.x.x.

System state restore

by sygenltd » Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:28 am

Hi,
We have been completing a bare metal backup of a server running an UEFI setup over the last couple of months. The company has a spare server to restore data to in the event of a server failing unfortunately this is a BIOS run server. I realise that I cannot do a full bare metal restore to this server but is there a way of restoring the system state? I have installed the OS and successfully restored the data from the backup.

Many Thanks
sygenltd
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:41 pm

Re: System state restore

by casey.burns » Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:43 am

Hi there,

My name is Casey, and I'm with the BackupAssist team. Thanks for posting on our forum.

You'll need to use the WBadmin command in order to complete the process. For complete instructions on this, check out the link below:

http://www.backupassist.com/education/a ... -2008.html

Note: This process is valid for Windows images created in Server 2008 and newer.

I hope this helps, please let me know if you have anything further to add.
Kind regards,

Casey Burns
BackupAssist Support
casey.burns
User
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:10 am

Re: System state restore

by sygenltd » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:34 pm

Hi Casey,

Thanks for the document, unfortunately although the catalogue list shows the backups, when I try and restore it comes back saying the location is invalid.

We are trying to restore a server onto different hardware on a different ip range, which means the storage device is also now on the different ip range - would this affect how the backup software sees the location? Do they both need to be on the same ip range as the old server?

thanks,
sygenltd
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:41 pm

Re: System state restore

by casey.burns » Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:12 pm

Hi there,

My name is Casey, and I'm with the BackupAssist team. Thanks for posting on our forum.

As long as the backup is on a destination that can be reached via LAN you should be able to restore the image.

However, when you complete a restore you'll need to make sure you're looking for the backups in the proper location as well. When attempting to browse to the backup location, you'll need to make sure you select the folder directly above the WindowsImageBackup folder.

I hope this helps, please let me know if you have anything further to add.
Kind regards,

Casey Burns
BackupAssist Support
casey.burns
User
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:10 am

Re: System state restore

by sygenltd » Tue Jul 07, 2015 6:31 pm

Hi Casey,

I'm not sure I understand what you're saying.

By following the instructions in the document I was using the command prompt and restoring using a backup identifier, I cannot browse to the backup location whilst doing this.
If I open backupassist and browse to the backup and restore, it does not restore the system state, which is what is required.

If I have mis-understood please correct me....otherwise is there another way to restore the system state from an external networked device to a brand new server?

Many Thanks
sygenltd
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:41 pm

Re: System state restore

by casey.burns » Fri Jul 10, 2015 3:53 am

Hi there,

Thanks for posting on our forum.

If you need help with the full syntax, check out the link below:
https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/lib ... 53789.aspx

If you scroll down a bit, you should come upon a section about using the Wbadmin start systemstaterecovery command. It will have an example for you that should help you get the syntax correct.

I hope this helps, please let me know if you have anything further to add.
Kind regards,

Casey Burns
BackupAssist Support
casey.burns
User
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:10 am

Re: System state restore

by sygenltd » Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:13 pm

Hi Casey,

Thanks for the document.
I have now worked my way through it and have tried various bits to try and retrieve this backup but am struggling.

The initial backup was done to a networked harddrive but when I use that as the backuptarget for restoring it says there are no backups found.

When I use the Get Versions command it shows all the backups completed saying they are a location called BA_Data_Container(Z:) how do I get the command prompt to understand that that location is the networked harddrive?

This is now becoming a major issue as we need to have this server restored urgently. I really didn't think I'd have these issues in restoring data.
sygenltd
User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:41 pm


Return to Technical Support v8



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron