Page 1 of 1

Deleting Old Backups from Single Instance Store

Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:52 am
by bniknar
I need to delete old backups to free-up a big chunk of space. What's the process of doing this w/o invalidating the most recent backups? Note that this is a Single Instance backup store.

Thanks!

Re: Deleting Old Backups from Single Instance Store

Posted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:08 pm
by TimN
Hi,

It's Tim from BackupAssist.

You can manually delete the older backups via Windows explorer or use a 3rd party tool to remove the older backups.

Note that deleting the backups manually via Windows explorer may be slow due to the need to update the Single Instance Store hard links.

Regards,

Tim

Re: Deleting Old Backups from Single Instance Store

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:22 am
by bniknar
Thanks for your reply Tim, that helps.

Two related questions:

1. What's the impact to the backups if I erase the first/original backup in the single instance store? I assume that the next (tonight's) backup will be a full backup, and the hard links in the previous backups will point to this new full backup? Please advise.

2. A related question on single instance stores: I see the option (under Replication Options) called Single Instancestore Options, which is about the maximum number of hard links to a file. I currently have it set to 100. What happens after 100 is reached?

Thank you.

Re: Deleting Old Backups from Single Instance Store

Posted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:17 am
by TimN
Hi,

It's Tim from BackupAssist. I have provided answers to your queries below:

1. What's the impact to the backups if I erase the first/original backup in the single instance store? I assume that the next (tonight's) backup will be a full backup, and the hard links in the previous backups will point to this new full backup? Please advise.

- The Single Instance Store process will update the hard links if you delete the oldest backup. The following article explains how Single Instance Store manages deleted folders: https://www.backupassist.com/blog/suppo ... ard-links/

2. A related question on single instance stores: I see the option (under Replication Options) called Single Instance store Options, which is about the maximum number of hard links to a file. I currently have it set to 100. What happens after 100 is reached?

- After 100 hard links to an unchanged file are reached, the file will be transferred again even though it has not changed. The option gives you the chance to limit the number of hard links created to a file to avoid the backup slowing down over time due to a large number of hard links if a file has not changed for a very long time.


I hope this helps,

Tim

Re: Deleting Old Backups from Single Instance Store

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:36 am
by bniknar
This does help, thank you.