Page 1 of 1

BA seems to be using space on a VM its backing up

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:55 pm
by cracker666
We backup our 2012 r2 Host system which has 5 VM's on D drive to a USB3 HDD
our BA is at version 9.5.1r1 :D
We do a full Vss mode backup leaving out pagefiles external drives, but including exchange.

The problem I have is this, When we do a back up BA seems to be using space on a VM its backing up, is this possible. :shock:
The BA instance is only on the host not this effected VM.
We went from 300gb free space to 10gb in one day.
Its only started to do this since Thursday.

Any ideas how I can track this down. :?:

Re: BA seems to be using space on a VM its backing up

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:40 pm
by sncsolutions
Hi

we have the same issue has started, not sure if latest release (which already has a know issue with showing files in a guest VM) or cause we have started doing a granular exchange backup
we have AVHDX being created which would be for a checkpoint for backing up but seems to me they should be merged when the backup is complete
we have upgraded to same version

shutting down the guest VM's' will cause the merge to happen and get the disk space back but we should not be having this issue

have you checked if you have AVHDX files as well being created?

Re: BA seems to be using space on a VM its backing up

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:01 pm
by sncsolutions
Backup just started AVHDX file created, happens each time backup runs a new AVFDH is created I get why
but it cant just leave them like this?

Re: BA seems to be using space on a VM its backing up

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:12 am
by casey.burns
Hi there,

My name is Casey, and I'm with the BackupAssist team. Thanks for posting on our forum.

Would it be possible for you to send in a set of diagnostic information from BackupAssist? We'll need this information to properly troubleshoot your issue.
To send us diagnostic information please follow these steps:

1) Go to Help (from the top-right corner of the console) -> Contact Support
2) Fill out the form and ensure that the Submit system diagnostics checkbox at the bottom is checked.

If you have any issues using our automated support tool please follow these steps to manually send in your diagnostics file:

1. Go to C:\ProgramData (it is a hidden directory)
2. Find the BackupAssist folder, zip up the version of the following folder: BackupAssist vX (Where X is the version that you are running)
3. Once you've zipped up all the folders needed please go to our manual submission website that will collect the data and send to us: http://www.backupassist.com/BackupAssis ... submit.php.

Kind regards,

Casey Burns
BackupAssist Support